Avatar

Image Courtesy: Adulting is Hard by Pinterest user Tee Turtle


I tried very hard to think of an avatar that would represent me. I thought of a couple of ideas, but I was not fully convinced about them. They didn’t feel like they were me.

So, partly out of frustration and partly out of amusement I decided to post an Instagram ‘close friend story’, asking those who know me best to describe me as a bunch of words or emoticons. This proved to be more insightful and helpful than I intentioned. The most common replies that came up were ‘sleepy’, ‘coffee’, and ‘lazy’. I also got ‘nerd’ a couple of times. I found this funny because these were contradicting each other: coffee is supposed to make you feel awake, not sleepy, and lazy and nerd have opposing implications too. I decided to combine these random aspects of my personality to create an avatar.

My avatar is a sloth (primarily known for slowness and overall laziness) who is cuddled into a blanket, drinking coffee– a visual that makes me smile just thinking about it. It is exactly what I do to relax in my free time. I added the spectacles to incorporate the ‘nerd’ part– a reputation I have falsely been awarded for studying too much. A small, possibly irrelevant detail that I really liked about this particular image is that the blanket looks exactly like the one I sleep with every night. I believe that this avatar truly represents me in my ‘natural habitat’.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started